Valley educator takes top honours for excellence in supporting Indigenous Education

Jeannine Lindsay, an Aboriginal support worker at Lake Trail Middle, received the Premier of BC's award of education excellence for her stellar work supporting Indigenous Education in the Comox Valley. 

The Awards for Excellence in Education were created to recognize the enormous contributions of B.C.'s exceptional teachers, administrators and support staff that are vital to the cultural, economic and social well-being of the province. The Premier’s Awards provide students, parents, teachers and other members of the community with an opportunity to celebrate those who make a real difference in B.C. schools.

The Awards are presented annually to exceptional education professionals in British Columbia's school system working within either the public, independent, First Nations, or offshore school systems.

Winners receive a $3,000 personal bursary for professional learning, and a $2,000 contribution to their school community for professional learning.

Here is how Comox Valley Schools placed this year:

Outstanding New Teacher Award

  • Winner: Maymie Tegart, Blue River Elementary school, SD 73 (Kamloops/Thompson)
  • Finalist: Carmen McDowell, Glenrosa Middle school, SD 23 (Central Okanagan)
  • Finalist: Kirsten Tancon, Highland Secondary school, SD 71 (Comox Valley)

Outstanding Support Award

  • Winner: Jeannine Lindsay, Aboriginal support worker, Lake Trail Middle school, SD 71 (Comox Valley)
  • Finalist: Jacquie Grypink, educational assistant, Hillview Elementary school, SD 22 (Vernon)
  • Finalist: Richard Morgan, custodian, Penticton Secondary school, SD 67 (Okanagan Skaha)
Published Print