

Comox Valley Schools

School District No. 71

INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, November 13, 2018 6:30 pm

A copy of the Public Board Meeting Agenda is available on the School District website at: http://www.comoxvalleyschools.ca

Alternately, copies are available on request from Debbie.Page@sd71.bc.ca.

1. Call to Order – 6:40 pm

Present:	Trustees	<u>Staff</u>
	Janice Caton	Dean Lindquist, Superintendent of Schools
	Ian Hargreaves	Tom Demeo, Assistant Superintendent
	Sheila McDonnell	Nicole Bittante, Secretary Treasurer
	Tonia Frawley	Lynda-Marie Handfield, Director of Human Resources
	Sarah Jane Howe	Candice Hilton, Director of Finance
	Michelle Waite	Geoff Manning, Director of Instructional Services K-12
	Kathleen (Kat) Hawksby	Ian Heselgrave, Director of Operations
		Josh Porter, Director, Information Technology
		Mary Lee, Manager, Communications & Community
		Engagement Manager
		Debbie Page, Recording Secretary

The Board of Education acknowledges that we are on the traditional territories of the K'omoks First Nation. We would like to thank them for the priviledge of living on their land and the gift of working with their children.

- 2. **Traditional Welcome and Blessing** Fran Prince, K'omoks First Nation Public meeting was suspended at 6:50 pm for the Traditional Welcome and Blessing; Public meeting resumed at 6:55 pm
- 3. Declaration of 2018 Trustee Election Results

Janice Caton, City of Courtenay
Kathleen (Kat) Hawksby, City of Courtenay
Sheila McDonnell, Area A, Baynes Sound, Hornby and Denman Islands
Michelle Waite, Area B, Lazo
Ian Hargreaves, Area C, Puntledge, Black Creek
Tonia Frawley, Town of Comox
Sarah Jane Howe, Village of Cumberland

4. Oath of Office – 2018-2022

5. Adoption of Agenda

Recommendation:

THAT the Board of Education of School District No. 71 adopt the November 13, 2018
Inaugural Board Meeting Agenda as presented.

CARRIED

6. **Appointment of Scrutineers**

Appointees:

Candice Hilton, Director of Finance Esther Shatz, Director of Instruction, Student Services

7. Election of Board Chairperson

The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations for the position of Chairperson of the Board for a first time. Trustee Janice Caton was nominated and let her name stand. The Secretary Treasurer called for nominations a second time. Hearing none, the Secretary Treasurer called a third time for nominations. Hearing no further nominations the Secretary Treasurer declared Trustee Janice Caton Chairperson of the Board for the ensuing year.

Trustee Janice Caton assumed the Chair.

8. Election of Board Vice-Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of Vice-Chairperson of the Board for a first time. Trustee Ian Hargreaves was nominated and let his name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a second time. Trustee Tonia Frawley was nominated and let her name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a third time. Hearing none, the Chairperson asked the appointed scrutineers to distribute ballots for vote. Ballots were counted and Trustee Tonia Frawley was declared Board Vice Chairperson for the ensuing year.

9. Election of Representative – BC School Trustees Association (BCSTA) Provincial Council

The BCSTA Bylaws provide that each member Board shall elect one trustee as representative and one trustee alternate representative to the Provincial Council

 a) Nominations for representative to the BCSTA Provincial Council called by Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of representative to the BCSTA Provincial Council a first time. Trustee Ian Hargreaves was nominated and let his name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a second time. Hearing none, the Chairperson called for nominations a third time. Hearing no further nominations Trustee Ian Hargreaves was declared representative to the BC School Trustees Association Provincial Council for the 2019 calendar year.

b) Nominations for *alternate representative* to the BCSTA Provincial Council called by Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of alternate representative to the BCSTA Provincial Council a first time. Trustee Michelle Waite was nominated and let her name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a second time. Hearing none, the Chairperson called for nominations a third time. Hearing no further nominations the Chairperson declared Trustee Michelle Waite as the alternate representative to the BC School Trustees Association Provincial Council for the 2019 calendar year.

Election of Representative – BC Public School Employers' Association (BCPSEA) Representative Council

The BCPSEA Bylaws provide that each member Board shall elect one trustee as *representative designate* and one trustee as *alternate designate* to the BCPSEA Representative Council

a) Nominations for representative designate to the BCPSEA Representative Council by Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of representative designate to the BCPSEA Representative Council a first time. Trustee Sheila McDonnell was nominated, and let her name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a second time. Hearing none, the Chairperson called for nominations a third time. Hearing no further nominations the Chairperson declared Trustee Sheila McDonnell as the representative designate to the BC Public School Employers Association for the 2019 calendar year.

b) Nominations for alternate designate to the BCPSEA Representative Council called by Chairperson

The Chairperson called for nominations for the position of alternate designate to the BCPSEA Representative Council a first time. Trustee Sarah Jane Howe was nominated and let her name stand. The Chairperson called for nominations a second time. Hearing none, the Chairperson called for nominations a third time. Hearing no further nominations the Chairperson declared Trustee Sara Jane Howe as the alternate designate to the BC Public School Employers Association for the 2019 calendar year.

10. Signing Authority

Recommendation:

THAT the statutory bank authority forms be duly executed, naming the Chairperson or alternately the Vice-Chairperson, jointly with the Secretary Treasurer or alternately the Director of Finance, as signing officers for the Board of Education of School District No. 71 (Comox Valley);

AND THAT the Secretary Treasurer be authorized to transact all other official financial and legal business for and on behalf of the Board.

CARRIED

11. Information Items

- A. Board Procedural Bylaw
- B. Board Policy 1-2: Role of the Board
- C. Board Policy 1-3: Trustee Rights and Responsibilities
- D. Board Policy 1-6: Trustee Conflict of Interest
- E. Board Policy 1-7: Trustee Code of Conduct
- F. 2018-19 Board Meeting Schedule

12. **Destruction of Ballots**

Recommendation:

THAT the ballots of the November 13, 2018 Inaugural Board Meeting be destroyed.

CARRIED

,

13. **Adjournment – 7:15 pm**

Recommendation:

THAT the November 13, 2018 Inaugural Board Meeting be adjourned. CARRIED