Comox Valley Schools (SD71) 607 Cumberland Rd., Courtenay, B.C. V9N 7G5 250-334-5500 www.comoxvalleyschools.ca



For immediate release

24 November 2021

Comox Valley Schools Board Elects New Chair

Comox Valley, B.C. – Comox Valley Schools is pleased to announce Trustee Tonia Frawley has been elected as Board Chair and Trustee Michelle Waite as Vice Chair for the next year. They will serve in their respective roles until October 2022.

Comox Valley Schools would like to thank Sheila McDonnell for her work as Chair over the past year and steadfast dedication to our students.

The elections for Board Chair and Vice Chair took place at the November 23, 2021, Public Board Meeting, as required by <u>Policy 104: Board of Education – Meetings</u> and in accordance with <u>Policy 101: Board of Education – Role and Function</u> and Section 67(4) of the <u>School Act</u>.

Trustee Janice Caton and Trustee Sarah Jane Howe were declared BC School Trustees Association (BCSTA) Board representative and alternate, respectively.

In addition, Trustee Sheila McDonnell and Trustee Kat Hawksby were declared BC Public School Employers' Association (BCPSEA) Board representative and alternate, respectively.

"I'm grateful for this opportunity to serve families and students in Comox Valley Schools," said Board Chair Fawley. "We have passionate advocates for public education on our board and I look forward to supporting student success, so everyone can thrive in our schools."

Trustee elections are held every four years, with the next occurring on October 15, 2022.

-End-

Media Contact

Craig Sorochan Manager of Communications Comox Valley Schools (School District 71) Communications@sd71.bc.ca