Governor General Award Winners

Lord Dufferin, Canada’s third Governor General after Confederation, created the Academic Medals in 1873 to encourage academic excellence across the nation. Over the years, they have become the most prestigious award that students in Canadian schools can receive.

For more than 140 years, the Governor General’s Academic Medals have recognized the outstanding scholastic achievements of students in Canada. They are awarded to the student graduating with the highest average from a high school, as well as from approved college or university programs.

Pierre Trudeau, Tommy Douglas, Kim Campbell, Robert Bourassa, Robert Stanfield and Gabrielle Roy are just some of the more than 50 000 people who have received the Governor General’s Academic Medal as the start of a life of accomplishment.

Isfeld Governor General Award Winners

2021 – Josh Negenman
2020 – Olivia Annau
2019 – Sophie Groves
2018 – William Lu
2017 – Haley Waldhaus
2016 – Torin Halvarson
2015 – Haley Richardson
2014 – Kristen Bystrem
2012 – Alistair Vanbergen
2011 – Ferrest Picher
2010 – Chelsey Olsen
2009 – Laramie Ferguson
2008 – Jasmine Dyck
2007 – Brianna Potvin
2006 – Trevor Lewis
2005 – Kathryn Kuss
2004 – Georgina Nicoll